Home > Life, Work-related, Writing and Poetry > PAD Day 23 Prompt: Write a morning poem

PAD Day 23 Prompt: Write a morning poem

Walt Whitman's use of free verse became apprec...

Walt Whitman's use of free verse became appreciated by composers seeking a more fluid approach to setting text. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I begin my day like most people. Yet, within ten minutes of getting up the computer is one and I’m in my chair beginning the day. The time of day varies according to the hour I got to bed the night before.

This month, which is winding down and has many of us scrambling to complete writing challenges accepted twenty-three days ago, has forced me to accomplish at least four things each day that wouldn’t have been there otherwise. That’s a huge change, but a welcome one. Even as I feel harried on occasion, I also feel vindicated in my belief in self. If nothing else has come of this month, I have that for however long I choose to remain true to it.

Since I’ve already announced the poetry prompt of the day, let’s get on with it. I hope you enjoy these offerings for this Monday morning.

 

 

 

God’s Alarm Today

 

Ribbons of ethereal light-splashed color

Pour out their hearts for my sake,

To bring me back into this waking world

Without need for jangling noise

Or mind-bending musical accompaniment.

© Claudette J. Young 2012

 

Sleep

 

A moan, a stretch, each signals awareness

Of body, long seconds before mind is engaged,

Just before spirit reclaims thought to realize

Your presence is gone with night’s dream.

Wonderment at spirit’s choice of companions

Floods the body, releasing joys at reunion

With one absent so long from life’s path,

Giving solace with knowledge of future visits.

© Claudette J. Young 2012

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. April 26, 2012 at 10:56 am

Leave a comment