Home > Life, Work-related, Writing and Poetry > Mixing It Up with Poetry

Mixing It Up with Poetry

The Muse of Poesie

Today’s prompt on Poetic Asides was simple. Write a mixed-up poem, no restrictions on subject or how you mix it up.

Again, wide open prompts like this one bring out a creative spark in people who must be seen to be believed. Humor cuddles with inspiration; absurdity takes a swing at nonsense, at the same time that both end with profound observations; teasers dive off the board into a sea of emotive pieces that defy categories; and cento makes an appearance from a pro. You just can’t predict what you’ll find inside the prompt’s comment section.

Take mine, for instance. When I began writing this morning, I intended to write about having been given the wrong directions for driving to a specific location. Not a difficult assignment from myself.

I got eight lines in and realized that Muse was dictating again on a subject that paralleled my intent. It became inspirational instead, surprising me as much as anyone. And I allowed it. Here it is for your perusal. Enjoy reading.

Much Needed Surprise 

I followed your directions,

Though there were missteps.

I’d begin once again,

Hoping to make no detours.

I left early but arrived on time

To your doorstep, a marvel sublime.

A picket fence greeted me,

Banking rivers of pansies,

Holding back a flood of color.

I didn’t think you’d remember

My favorite flowers and all.

You kept my swing company

Until I arrived to feel the peace,

Created for me by your side.

There, within your glory I’ll

Live for all eternity, a child

Learning To Be as one with thee.

© Claudette J. Young 2012

Below is the poem I wrote this morning for Poetic Bloomings, which required verse focused on “senses” in all their definitions.

Sense and Sense Ability

We hear world’s echoes,

And see daydreams unfold.

Aromas fill our heads instead of humor,

With joys known or

Disgust at odorous repeats.

Fingers trace life’s passing,

While feet feel roads beneath.

And taste sensations

Keep our appetites replete.

© Claudette J. Young 2012

 

  1. April 16, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I love Much-Needed Surprise. It makes me think about those ‘special places’ we are instructed to find when meditating. Great images.

    • claudsy
      April 16, 2012 at 5:23 pm

      Thanks, Margaret. I’m glad that you enjoyed it and that it gave you food for thought.

  1. April 22, 2012 at 10:44 am
  2. May 14, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Leave a comment