Home > Mentors, Work-related, Writing and Poetry > A Poem We Will Go

A Poem We Will Go

 

The Old English epic poem Beowulf is written i...

The Old English epic poem Beowulf is written in alliterative verse and paragraphs, not in lines or stanzas. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Poetic Asides’ annual April Poem-a-day Challenge has begun. Today’s prompt dial landed on aspects of communication.

Love poems, rejection poems, personal and impersonal, fast and future, funny, and poignant; words flow from diverse poems worldwide in this marathon of lyricism.

The first thing that came to mind when I saw the prompt this morning was conversation. People communicate on multiple levels the majority of the time. A voice’s tones, a word’s inflection, all communicate a separate message. Otherwise, sarcasm wouldn’t be as cutting as it is.

My mind focused on what one could overhear that says one thing on the auditory level. On the visual level, however, another conversation would take place. Meanings take on a depth that sometimes has to be seen as well as heard.

This was my first post on Poetic Asides (PA) this morning.

Five-Star Dining

“Did you eat?”

“Some hours ago.”

“Oh? Disappointing?”

“I hate dining out now.”

“And why is that? Please tell me.”

“I get no satisfaction now.”

“In what way?”

“Salivation.”

“Oh. Did you get bored?”

“My server had no taste.”

“Do you need help finding new foods?”

He shook his head as he drew her near,

Nuzzling close.

“You’ve got me spoiled.”

She threw back her head,

Laughing with abandon.

Power came with submission.

“Drink, darling, of my vintage wine.”

He drank deep,

Her essence warm,

Her love new again.

“You’re intoxicating.”

His bloody mouth left her throat.

“You’ve never learned. Home cooking’s best.”

For those who’re connoisseurs of fine poetry, forgive my liberties with form and subject. I had deliberate intent.

There is opportunity later in the day to post more poems for this prompt, and I might do just that given spare time.

I hope you enjoy my efforts throughout this month. Drop by often to see where prompts and personal thoughts take my poetry for this challenge. Be sure to drop in a comment when the spirit or Muse moves you.

© Claudette J. Young 2012

  1. April 1, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    Claudsy: what a surprise ending! Brilliant!

    • claudsy
      April 1, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      Oh, thanks, Meena. I wasn’t sure if it would work, but had to try.

      • April 1, 2012 at 1:23 pm

        Meena was having visions of Dracula… how apropos 🙂

      • claudsy
        April 2, 2012 at 2:18 pm

        I seemed to run in that vein with words throughout the day. Glad you approve.

  2. April 1, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    I love this. The way you played with the readers’ expectations is marvellous. I look forward to getting your next poem in my inbox. I’ll definitely be back to comment.

    Best wishes,

    Casey

    PS: I’m also participating in a similar challenge, and would appreciate any feedback you could offer, if you get a chance. 🙂

  3. claudsy
    April 1, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    Thank you so much, Casey. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I had fun with it.

    And Meena, you were obviously tuned into my thoughts on this one before I pressed the post button.

  4. April 1, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    Like this very much. Clever.

    • claudsy
      April 1, 2012 at 5:09 pm

      Thank you so much. Most days I’m not up to “Clever” so early in the morning. I lucked out today.

  5. April 2, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    Happy National Poetry Month to you, Clauds! Your poem is such a romantic/sweet communication! Love it!

    • claudsy
      April 2, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      Thanks, Hannah. Glad you liked it.

  1. April 20, 2012 at 1:21 pm
  2. April 21, 2012 at 4:38 pm
  3. April 24, 2012 at 12:40 pm
  4. June 3, 2012 at 2:11 pm
  5. June 3, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Leave a comment