Home > Life, Work-related, Writing and Poetry > PAD 25: Sport’s the Thing

PAD 25: Sport’s the Thing

 

a baseball game

a baseball game (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You read that right. It’s all about sports today for April’s Poem-A-Day challenge. I have favorite sports like most people. I can enjoy a baseball game as well as anyone, especially minor league.

Those players are on that field for the love of the game and a shot at the big-time. They play there heart’s out for little compensation, have a grueling season, and travel more than some others. Their “sport” is their love, right up there with family. And that’s how it should be, at least to my way of thinking.

When I look at where “sport” came from and the semantics that have surrounded it in the last century or so, it brought to mind who the real players were in those long-ago days. That’s when I penned this poem for the prompt. I hope you all enjoy it. Leave a comment if you wish. I like comments. Just play nice; that’s all I ask.

A Sport? Really?

 

When I lived,

It meant survival,

This lance meeting the air.

 

When I lived,

It was war’s tool,

This disc loosing heads.

 

When I lived,

It dropped enemies,

This sling and stone.

 

When I lived,

It bought food,

This shaft with feathers.

 

When I lived,

Sport meant health,

Prosperity’s privilege.

© Claudette J. Young

  1. April 25, 2012 at 11:17 am

    I really, really like this one Clauds.

    • claudsy
      April 25, 2012 at 11:35 am

      Thank you so much, Meena. Gotta say it was the first thing that came to mind. Go figger.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

