Home > Life, Work-related, Writing and Poetry > Write a Life Event Poem

Write a Life Event Poem

Title page from the second edition of A Memoir...

Title page from the second edition of A Memoir of Jane Austen (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Memoir seems to be a hot genre at present. Everywhere I look I find courses on writing it, sites to encourage it, challenges that require it.

All writers use elements of memoir each time they sit down to a keyboard. The act of writing itself teems with memoir elements.

Today’s Poetic Asides prompt merely brought it out of the shadows and onto a broader page for viewing. Poetry rides in a horse called sensory memory. That horse’s saddles bags are filled with personal experiences, perceptions, life’s illusions, and emotive qualities. The poet’s spurs are used to guide, not goad her mount toward an end goal.

A life event is by definition a memory that has changed a person’s perspective, at the very least. It probably also changed the person’s life in some way. All of us have such experiences, and sooner or later, we write them out for others to see. The following poem is my offering for this prompt of “Write a Life Event Poem.” Enjoy.

Shattered Glass and Mental Mirrors

Fractured images greeted me

With wide-open eyes that day,

Leaving behind panic, dismay,

Never thoughts of revelry.

Beyond doctors and onto life,

I built myself a future,

Complete plan to fight any strife,

To cut losses and suture

Together paths for new learning

Canes, dogs, all necessary

For work within limits, churning

With needs that I not tarry.

Years passed, moving toward this place

I come to with verse’s words,

Telling tales of things done and faced

This group of kindest souls, this space.

© Claudette J. Young 2012

  1. April 19, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Claudsy: your struggle and dealing with the loss of your sight in the prime of your youth always shocks me… The news of it never grows old… My admiration for you grows with each reading! What you may have lost in physical sight you made up for with insight.

    • claudsy
      April 19, 2012 at 5:21 pm

      It doesn’t shock me anymore. I got accustomed to it–well, most of the time. Sometimes I forget about it, too, and end up surprised because a habit that began in infancy still has control of my reactions–like glancing up at the spot where a clock used to hang, even though I know I can’t see it anymore.

      One never fully gets used to it, though. Not really. One either accepts or not. I accepted, which made the fight a lot easier for me.

      Thank you, my friend, for everything. You’ve always been a delight to me.

  2. April 19, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Claudsy, you are a true inspiration and I’m honored to call you my friend. All the best, Donna

    • claudsy
      April 19, 2012 at 11:22 pm

      Thanks so much, Donna. I’ve always enjoyed and been honored, too, by your friendship and instruction. I’m glad you liked my poetic effort.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

