Quick Add On

napowrimo

napowrimo (Photo credit: sbpoet)

My absolute late entry for today’s Poem-A-Day Challenge to the prompt “Visitor” reads like this:

Uninvited Guest

I’ve not seen you

Since I was young,

Tender, vulnerable,

Unaware of the world’s hazards.

You insinuated

Your selfish desires

Under nubile skin, without

Regard for consequences.

Now you return.

I cannot bear to touch you,

Or to have you touch me.

The look of you frightens me.

Have you no one else to victimize?

A wail of need rises in my throat,

To escape as a siren does. “Tick! Tick!

“Get it off. Get it off!”

Enjoy!

 

© Claudette J. Young 2012

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

