Home > Life, Writing and Poetry > A Frustrating Thing Happened…

A Frustrating Thing Happened…

A writer’s life is no different than any other. There are daily tasks, daily needs to be fulfilled, and on those bad days, there are frustrations.

Some days, as everyone knows, frustrations can outweigh every other consideration that comes in the front door. I’ll give you a little taste of my running frustration to help brighten your day by making yours seem less annoying.

About three weeks ago something happened to my computer’s ability to allow certain types of functions. I really don’t think it’s in my computer, but rather, within the bodies of certain sites. I have, for over a year, had two blogs that had subscribers and followers as regular as rain in April. They both were NetworkedBlog(ed), so each posting I made showed up on my FB page.

The convenience of that connection disappeared without trace or explanation one day. I was left with nothing. Subscribers cannot even come into my blogs now. As far as I can tell, my widgets are right where they’re supposed to be, doing their job. My membership in NetworkedBlog is also intact, from what I can see.

This has brought me to more than just frustration, because about the same time, my ability to click on a link from one of my FB friends no longer takes me anywhere but a blank page. I cannot link out of FB. The same link, sent to me in an email, works just fine. Therefore, the problem is somewhere within FB and my account.

Now you see what I’m talking about. I have links all over the place and can’t use most of them. AND I DO NOT KNOW WHY!

Sometime ago I made a statement here. I said: it isn’t the questions that are the problem. It’s the answers that cause all the trouble. This is a perfect case in point. The question of WHY this is happening isn’t pertinent. Even the question of How do I fix this? It stands alone without friends. The question isn’t the problem.

If I find an answer, and I know it’s out there somewhere, I wonder how much trouble it’s going to cause me in time and frustration. I’ve learned one important lesson during the past three years of constant internet use. No answers are easy ones. They all cost in time, frustration, and many times, in dollars.

On top of all that mess is the knowledge that I’m also trying desperately to get another site up and running. Right now my luck and patience seem to be on the insufficient side of the bank account.

If anyone has a suggestion, knows what the problem might be, or just wants to commiserate with me, let me know. I’ll shed a tear for you as I scream at the screen that IT ISN”T FAIR!

Until later, folks, a bientot,

Claudsy

  1. August 23, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    I feel your pain. There is nothing more frustrating than the computer going haywire and you don’t have a clue why or how to fix it. The internet is fantastic, the computer is genius, facebook is fun, and blogging is helpful but… ONLY WHEN THEY WORK LIKE THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO! When they don’t, it’s nothing but headaches and frustration. For some reason all the sudden I’m not able to comment on anyones blog, including my own unless I go through google chrome. No clue why. This just happened overnight but has been going on for several months now.

    Anyway, I am absolutely no help to you on your own set of internet problems, but I can sure relate to your frustration and vent right along with ya!

    • claudsy
      August 24, 2011 at 11:43 am

      Allyn, I want to thank you for your commisseration. I needed to know that I wasnt’ alone in this wilderness we all call the Ether-Zone. With the net so squirrely from sun spot activity and who knows what else, it’s difficult just gettiing one’s email in and out without the crash of a lifetime taking over your world.

      Thanks for giving me a broader perspective on the problem. I needed that, too. Makes for less paranoia.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

