Home > Life, Writing and Poetry > Internet Connections and New Friendships

Internet Connections and New Friendships

We’ve been hanging out with a friend and her husband in near San Luis Obispo; wonderful area, I must say.

My friend, Mikki, and I met a couple of years ago on one of our writer’s forums. Since then we’ve corresponded, assisted each other, and generally built a good internet relationship. It never seriously occurred to us that we’d meet in person unless it happened at a conference somewhere.

We were wrong. This trip is giving me an opportunity to meet and come to appreciate even more all those writers I’ve met online in the past two years. (at least, those who wish it) That’s an opportunity I certainly couldn’t pass up.

Mikki has been the first. People do have lives and those don’t always accommodate the incidental touring writer. I’ve missed being able to meet with three writers so far on this leg of our trip. However, we’re making plans to return before the end of our exploration to pick up those that we can’t see now. I think that’s only fair.

It’s astounding how close writers get with one another. Mikki will remain one of my dearest friends. Of that I’m sure, and I’ll treasure that knowledge. Sister and I have adopted Mikki and her husband, who exemplify those with generous and loving hearts.

Now we turn our sights on the LA area where we’ll meet with another online writer friend. I’m not concerned about compatibility now. I’ve learned more in the past week of talking and laughing with these marvelous people than I’d ever expected.

Writers really are a breed apart. I’m so glad that I’ve joined their ranks for however long they’ll allow me membership.

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone. Go out and enjoy your friends. Talk to those you love and laugh at the antics presented. Time is a fleeting thing. Take a chance. make a new friend.

Until next time, a bientot,

Claudsy

  1. December 17, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    How nice it is to meet other writers! Especially since most of us are introverted.

  2. December 20, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Loving these updates, and keeping you in prayer!!

  3. January 6, 2011 at 4:03 am

    i like it

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

