Home > Life, Writing and Poetry > Life’s Fork In The Road

Life’s Fork In The Road

The past few months were filled with conferences, seminars, and workshops from many corners of my sphere. Some weeks time did not allow for concentrated study. In fact, there were weeks when simply finding the time to finish a piece for a submission deadline shattered all hope of spending time with anything else.

That’s not an unusual occurrence for a writer. Ask any of my writer friends about their own work schedules and hopes for more hours in the day, if you need confirmation.

Life tends to get in the way of plans, regardless of who or what those plans are for. We all know that. I have noticed something within the pattern of my life, however,

It seems that every time I come to one of these chaotic sections filled with study, work, creativity, etc., my life swerves off the main road and speeds headlong down another, previously unexplored one. This new direction always centers on tapping a new type of expression for my creativity. Oddly enough, I usually go with it. I’ve never been disappointed.

And the reason I’m not disappointed is that I always benefit from the new road. I might learn a new skill, meet an exciting new teacher, experience a completely different lifestyle temporarily, or any number of other such lessons. I look at creativity as my mentor. It grows as a tree with uncounted branches and twigs, each of which carries its own purpose and benefit.

Whether the branch holds a new hobby or a new career path, I will explore it for a while. That tendency does make me appear a bit flighty at times. Granted. But, I always enjoy the flight and see some wonderful sights along the way.

Truth to tell, I’m getting ready to board another flight. For the last few months my sister has concentrated her efforts on building a new career as a fine art photographer. She’s doing just great at it, too. I encourage and support her enthusiasm. She has a natural talent for it.

Photo shoots gets me out of the house and bring me information and interests I wouldn’t otherwise have. Gotta give her credit for that one, too. These outings have done something else for me as well.

I’ve become interested in travel writing to go along with the other types I’ve explored. It’s a perfect solution for both of us in so many ways. You see, we’re both children of a wanderlust persuasion.

What does this have to do with getting back on schedule, getting more focused and producing those stories and articles that I should have done six months ago?

It forces me to focus on getting my WIP pieces finished and out to the mags or publishers before we head out for the long haul. It forces me to concentrate on one type of writing for a set amount of time while we‘re on the road. It gives free rein to the use of creativity within the travel writing framework. And last but not least, it’s very lucrative. The dessert is that we get to travel while working together.

I’ve already been experimenting with pieces for both Associated Content and my own blogs. If you see photos that aren’t book covers within one of these, you can bet they came from my sister’s camera and her gallery stock at BJ Jones Photography. She chooses the photos and I write the piece around them.

You might ask what the difference is between this and any other kind of writing I might do. I think it comes down to traveling for a legitimate purpose, taking photos that will show people how we see the world, and writing about the uniqueness we found in the subjects of the photos. I can’t do that in a static academic essay which requires up to 5000 words, whether creative non-fiction or not.

The whole premise for doing the travel thing is to have fun and use it for work. It’s everyone’s dream. A person doesn’t get to do that very often in life. And we want to do it while we’re healthy and able to enjoy all of it.

Now that a decision has been made about what major plans are for next year, I can begin clearing the decks here and studying specifics for what I’ll need. Sister has the same requirements. Criteria must be in place, etc., before taking off to gather new material.

One future fun prospect, too, is that I’ll have plenty to blog about and share. I might even give travel tips as I go along. Not that others don’t do that.

In the meantime, nothing has really changed. I’m still where I am, writing for both adults and children. I still peruse the markets for likely placement of my baby Pulitzers. And I still enjoy writing my blogs.

I’m going to have a new interview soon. I’ll be doing more book reviews, too. And once in a while I’ll throw in a surprise.

For any out there who are planning changes in their lives or careers, stop by long enough to let me know about it. I always like hearing about other people’s doings.

Take care and God bless, all.

A bientot,

Claudsy

 **NOTE:  Photo by BJ Jones Photography

  1. September 17, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Well, I just accomplished a major step in my life; I moved out on my own. Handcraft Supplies Finished Pieces Wholesale

    • claudsy
      September 18, 2010 at 12:15 am

      Good for you. Now for the big, bad world. Take care and God bless.

  2. September 17, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    However, I have an eternal joy that goes beyond those rough roads of life. Handcraft Supplies Finished Pieces

    • claudsy
      September 18, 2010 at 12:15 am

      That’s how it should be.

  3. September 18, 2010 at 7:32 am

    Very nice site!

  4. September 19, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    Since the basic purpose of the internet is to share the knowledge and to communicate with each other, I can say that forums and blogs are playing one of the vital role in sharing the knowledge and to communicate with each other.

    • claudsy
      September 20, 2010 at 8:19 pm

      When people share ideas rather than argue about differences between those ideas, much gets learned and done. It’s the arguments that reduce peaceful progress.

  5. September 20, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Very nice site!

  6. October 5, 2010 at 2:05 am

    Cool blog, I had not come across claudsy.wordpress.com before in my searches!
    Continue the excellent work!

    • claudsy
      October 17, 2010 at 7:50 pm

      I sincerely hope you find your way back along the myriad of byways on the cyber spaghetti bowl of endless possibilities. And thank you for the encouragement.

      Clauds

  7. December 4, 2010 at 1:37 am

    Wow all I can say is that you are a great writer! Where can I contact you if I want to hire you?

    • claudsy
      December 6, 2010 at 2:26 pm

      I’m not sure what kind of writing you would need me for, but if you’d really like to contact me, you can go to my blog at:http://claudsy.blog.co.uk/ and leave me a confidential message about what you think you might need. That way I’ll be more able to tell you if I could, indeed, accommodate those requirements.

      Thank you for considering me for an assignment.

      Claudsy

  8. December 18, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    My dad has been writing a book exactly on point with this blog, I have emailed him the web address so maybe he could pick up a couple pointers. Great Job.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

