Home > Life > Life In The Cul-De-Sac

Life In The Cul-De-Sac

Coming out of a “Sleepy-time” drug state into a loud domestic altercation isn’t my idea of rejoining the world at 6 a.m. I’m more of a “let me lay here and wind into the day” sort of person.

But when you’ve moved into an apartment after years of living in the quieter country environs, you must adapt or perish through sheer nervous exhaustion. I just haven’t adapted yet. And that was my situation this morning.

It was probably a good thing that I decided to rise and attempt something other than sleep after the screaming match in the cul-de-sac above mine this morning. Shortly thereafter, the lady directly above me decided she needed to shower for the day. Those pipes run just above my bedroom, giving me ample listening opportunity and knowledge of just how much hot water she used and for how long. She takes reeeealy long showers.

Cul-de-sac? Oh, yeah, I hadn’t mentioned that yet. I guess I hadn’t really put that part together until this morning. All of the buildings within my complex are designed so that each apartment opens out onto a cul-de-sac with a stairwell. And the buildings are three stories tall. Doesn’t sound like too much of a problem until you sit and think about it for a long moment.

Now, I’m not saying that we endure constant excruciating noise. We don’t. In fact, compared to most apartment complexes I’ve visited over the years, ours is fairly quiet–everywhere but near the front door. The stairs are a fireman’s delight–concrete treads on strong steel frames and metal handrails. Why? Because they’re exposed to the elements.

All of the cul-de-sacs are open to the elements. AND THEY ECHO!

All sound within that area gets amplified so that it sounds as if it’s taking place directly outside my door–a false conclusion to which I can attest from this morning’s little drama. Knowing that two of the four apartments in my cul-de-sac are empty didn’t prevent me from going to find out who was making all that racket. Fortunately, it was coming from the floor above so that I didn’t have to witness anything the police might want to know about soon. I simply wasn’t dressed for company at that hour.

Living in Sin City has drawbacks. Yeah, I know the place is trying hard to lose the title designation, but sometimes the residents backslide.

Well, now that I’m actually awake, have had at least a small cup of coffee, and have something other than wool cluttering my head, I can get on with a normal seeming day.

I hope all of you had a better beginning to the day than I did. But, hey, things are looking up. I remembered that I have specified phone appointments today. That in itself is a plus.

Take care all and remember, “If you can’t beat ’em, write about ‘em.”

A bientot,

Claudsy

Categories: Life
  1. June 8, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Hi Clauds,

    Great post. I guess you moved by now and are in your new place of residence. I tried to get in touch with you via email, but you never responded. Did you change your email address? Please email me, okay? I still have the same email address: isswitan@cyg.net. or leave a message on one of three blogs:

    1. http://www.adolescentgirlsblog.wordpress.com
    2. http://www.irenesroth.wordpress.com
    3. http://www.arthritisselfmanagement.wordpress.com

    A bientot
    Irene

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

