Home > Writing and Poetry > Monday’s Interview with Irene Roth

Monday’s Interview with Irene Roth

Irene Roth takes the writer’s chair today, folks. She’s a bit shy, so I certainly appreciate her visit. Please help me welcome her into the spotlight. 

Claudsy: Irene, would you tell me at which college you teach and where it’s located? And, what subjects do you teach?
 
 Irene: I teach a whole range of general arts courses and liberal arts courses at Conestoga College in Waterloo.

 Claudsy: That certainly keeps you busy. As an academic you’re required to publish, aren’t you, even in Canada? Otherwise, we wouldn’t have the saying, “Publish or perish.” How often do you publish an academic book or article?

Irene: I try and publish a book a year, although it doesn’t (always) quite work out that way. I don’t publish because I have to. I do it because I love writing.

Claudsy: You have a husband and a parent still living . Do you ever feel yourself torn between your writing and other obligations? And if there’s a conflict, how you resolve it?

Irene: I haven’t really felt torn until lately. I have an elderly mother in Montreal, which is 1,100 miles away from me. She’s mostly all alone and (has been) very sick lately. And I feel very bad that I am separated from her and that I can’t help her as much as I …really want.

Claudsy: It’s never easy in those situations. But tell me, now that you’ve moved into the children’s literature genre from academics. Why did you add that dimension to your writing load?

Irene: I always wanted to write for children. This goes back to when I was a teenager. So, I am just fulfilling one of my lifetime wishes and loves.

Claudsy: Irene, as a working writer in every sense of the word, how do you schedule your time in order to accomplish everything you want and need to during the day?

Irene: I spend many of my days writing both academically and creatively. Right now, since I am trying to build my freelance business and become successful as a (creative) writer, I am writing three to four hours a day in each domain.

Claudsy: How much time do you allow yourself for outside reading and what do you read?

Irene: I read very widely, Claudsy. I read literally hundreds of books a year in all genres and for all ages.

Claudsy: I’d heard you have an extensive library. How much of your expertise in Philosophy bleeds over into your non-fiction writing for young girls or your fictional pieces?

Irene: I would have to say quite a bit. I’m trying to find a niche for my writing, and I think that Philosophy and Philosophical Psychology will propel my writing quite a bit in the future.

Claudsy: What about your many speaking engagements? It must be difficult for you to juggle those in Canada and the U.S. and your teaching and writing obligations. How do you manage?

Irene: I try and schedule all of my speaking engagements in the spring and summer. And I make it into a mini vacation.

Claudsy: I’m curious. Does being a Canadian writer affect how you write for the American market and why do you think so?

Irene: Yes, and No. I think that American publishers and magazine editors are very open to seeing good publications from Canadians. It’s just a matter of showing them what you can do as a writer.

Claudsy: Could you tell us how much of your reading and writing affects the other aspects of your life?

Irene: Well, my academic writing is taking a practical dimension now and has been for over five years or so. Most of my academic publications over the last few years have been in the areas of medical ethics.

I am now branching out into philosophical psychology where I am researching human toxicity in relationships and hybrid rationality.
 
 Claudsy: Good for you. That alone would intimidate some people. What is your one major goal now in your life and how do you intend to secure it?

Irene: One of my major goals is to write extensively both creatively and academically. I am doing just that right now. So, all is in order, I would say.

Claudsy: It sure seems that way. Do you see yourself doing more speaking engagements from your academic expertise and would you like to do workshops to teach academic writing sometime in the future?

Irene: Yes, I really would love to do that. I just hope I could balance that and my love of writing.

Claudsy: I want to thank Irene so much for stopping by to talk with me. It isn’t often that this private lady does interviews, so I appreciate her willingness to visit.

Short Personal Biography:

Irene Roth lives in Stratford, Ontario. This award-winning professor/writer travels between academics and her new love, children’s literature, on her writing journey‘s road. She took her undergrad and grad degrees at York University before moving on to the University of Wales to take her PhD. Irene speaks to varied groups around both Canada and the U.S.

The creative future looks bright for this talented professor as she concentrates her efforts on migrating to a freelance career to pair with her academics. She’s written for the teen girl market publications such as Odyssey and Encounter and is working on several children’s concepts books. She’s also currently working on three collegiate books in the fields of philosophy and medical ethics.
 
 You can catch her blog at:
 www.irenesroth.wordpress.com. To glean some of the wonderful writer’s tips and outlooks.
 
 Also, feel free to stop by her other blog at: www.switankowskyphilosophyreflections.com. for a dose of mental exercise. It’s good for you, too.
 
Tomorrow will be commentary, and Wednesday I’ll have Greg Neri, who promises to be a stimulating guest with many different perspectives.
 
Until then, a bientot,
Claudsy

 

Categories: Writing and Poetry
  1. February 1, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Thanks for the interesting and informative post. I look forward to more in the future.

  2. February 2, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Clauds,

    Thanks so much for interviewing me. I so appreciate it. I sure have done a lot, huh?

    Talk to you soon,
    Irene

  3. claudsy
    February 2, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    You’re more than welcome, Irene. You work harder than many writers I’ve talked to. You just keep accetping assignments. Things add up.

    Clauds

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

