Home > Work-related, Writing and Poetry > An Industry Filled With Questions

An Industry Filled With Questions

I know this is late in the day, but I didn’t feel particularly well this morning and just couldn’t get up much enthusiasm for posting. Yet, I needed to announce my next interview coming Jan. 18th, tomorrow. Lori Calabrese will be my guest on Monday. This award-winning writer will discuss her work and her upcoming release.

I’d like everyone to stop by to see what Lori has to say and perhaps learn more about navigating the world of the word.

Before I go, I’d like to say a few words about a question that has buzzed around my head for a long time. It’s not that the question has no value or that an answer doesn’t exist that caused me to neglect addressing it. I believe that it’s something I simply didn’t want to look at yet.

I continue to wonder why we (as an industry) produce so many books and other copy every year. I mean, it’s not like there wouldn’t be enough to go around if only half as much was printed. And, reduction of printed individual book numbers could potentially insure that only the best go into print or online, for that matter. Yet, the industry encourages more and more stories, essays, poetry, books of all varieties every day. Why?

Is it a matter of having too many writers and not enough slots for what’s produced that drives some of the demand for new literary/mainstream selections? Is it a means for publishers to remain solvent, thinking that more available titles means more dollars in the bank for the publisher? And why, all of a sudden, are there so many people deciding to become writers?

After all, writing has never been a huge money-making proposition for the majority of those producing manuscripts. Only a few ever command major incomes for their work. So, what’s the driver here?

Many writers make living wages as freelance copywriters, songwriters, playwrights, novelists, etc. Yet, they stand in the minority. How many aspiring writers actually understand that making a living wage from their efforts is far from guaranteed, I wonder.

Me? I didn’t go into this game for the cash. I have other monies coming in, so I have time to make it, break it, or give it up. Others aren’t so fortunate. In my heart I know that I will make it in this industry for a myriad of reasons.

 Money has never been my driver. Mass publication did not apply for the job of driver, either. Recognition by the big reader groups never horned in on my reasons folder. Nope. It all came down to a desire to have only one person at a time enjoy what I write. If it’s one of my critiquers, fine. If it’s one of my friends, that’s okay, too. If an editor claims to enjoy it, all the better. One at a time. That’s all I require of my work.

This assessment of my product has been brought to you today by Honesty, LLC. (Latest Learner’s Criteria). For those who wish to visit with EGO, INC, please take a right and stand in line. Sooner or later it will open its doors again to those in need.

Hope you’ve had a great weekend. ‘Til we meet again.

A bientot,

Claudsy

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

