Home > Writing and Poetry > Creative Juices and Letting Them Flow

Creative Juices and Letting Them Flow

 If you ask any writer about the ideas that flow from their brain on a given day, she/he will probably tell you that getting ideas to stop popping into her/his head is the biggest problem of all. I can attest to that. I spend much of my time just trying to focus on one thing without being distracted by another idea popping in and trying to take over.
 
A few days ago I decided to do just that. While reading some nights before, I had a question about whether a certain type of device existed to prevent a certain travesty from occurring. I didn’t know of, and had never seen, anything like it for water vehicles. In fact, I kept hearing about how bad the problem had gotten.
  
The problem? Propellers slicing into large mammals in the water, namely manatees and whales skimming just under the surface. So, I decided to at least ask the question of someone who should have the answer. And if he didn’t have it, he’d get it or die trying.
 
The one thing I think I can count on is that this design engineer will make sure such a device gets a chance to be created if it doesn’t already exist. Why? Because it would save his company millions in PR and his customers many sleepless nights. And if his company merges with a small manufacturer that can tool up for the making of this little item, his people could reap a substantial financial reward and change his whole industry world wide. Now, how’s that for an idea?
 
Thank you. I liked it.
While I wrote him about that question, I let him in on another piece of technology info I came across a bit over a year ago. This tech, if it can be converted for use in his product, would really change his industry. And the rewards? Incalculable.

I like doing things for the planet. And these two not so little changes would certainly help world wide and be able to crossover to other arenas as well. The applications are endless for the latter one, helping to solve many of the future’s potential extreme problems.

Of course, all of this depends on the application of R & D. That, and no one dropping the ball again. I don’t have the wherewithal to create the physical solution other than to give the idea over to those who can.

So, there you have it. My project for that day. I try to help where I can and this seemed a lovely opportunity. The one piece I’d been thinking about for some time. The other one came to me suddenly. I can only go to those with the clout to get something done. What they do from there is up to them.

But when you think about it, I can be proud of being a writer and allowing the creative juices to flow. SF writers across the globe have designed and developed our technology for centuries. Without them, we would still be walking everywhere.

Writers have designed all of our cultures when you really think about it. Just the act of reporting the news changes the society in which that news is reported. If you need an example of those who understand that reality, look to Iran. Disrupting communications was the first order of business for those in power during rough times for the people.

It’s always been this way, from the ancients in Egypt, Greece and Rome to yesterday’s news link, writers control how we see our world and live within it. And those creative juices are more potent than any liquid from a berry or other fruit. Ideas do come to fruition. They produce societal change, but not necessarily healthy change.

That’s why I chose to act on my thoughts. They are for a healthier planet. I can live with that. How will your ideas be used, do you think? Will they teach a lesson about actions? Or perhaps, they will entertain those whose lives are less than pleasant.

 Just curious. All good goals for creative juices. Here’s hoping you have a fruitful week ahead.

Clauds

 

 

 

 

Categories: Writing and Poetry
  1. Mina
    August 31, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Hi Clauds…

    I had no clue you were into science fiction as well… I miss you. I hope your pc gets better.

    Cheers
    Mina

  2. claudsy
    September 20, 2009 at 1:57 am

    Mina,

    I lived and breathed sf growing up and read all the classics. Burroughs and I had a love affair. I shared my passion with anyone who would listen and drove my folks nuts. My brother got the bug from me and still shares it but probably to a lesser degree. I’ve read Analog almost since it first came out.

    I guess that’s another thing we share, too.

    Everything is working fine so far. We’ll see how long that lasts.

  3. October 14, 2009 at 2:17 am

    Hello, it really interesting, thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

